When Sourdough Roadhouse Burned To The Ground

  OLD-TIMEY ROADHOUSE LOST TO A CHRISTMAS FIRE Sourdough Roadhouse: Harry Nicholai with Bud Lawson (Photo, Linda Weld) One of t...




  OLD-TIMEY ROADHOUSE LOST TO A CHRISTMAS FIRE

Sourdough Roadhouse: Harry Nicholai with Bud Lawson (Photo, Linda Weld)

One of the Copper River Valley’s nationally registered historic landmarks burned to the ground two days after Christmas in 1992.

Sourdough Roadhouse (Historic Photo)

The picturesque log building was built in 1903, and was partially underground, in the old trapper style, to conserve heat. A huge long beam spanned the main building. The roadhouse was first known as "Hart's" and was on the 370 mile winter road from Valdez to Fairbanks. The lodge was owned at the time of the fire by "Swede" Ruechel, who said he would replace it. Loss of the fire was listed at $150,000

After the lodge burned down, the Copper Basin 300 Sled Dog Race continued to stop by Sourdough Creek, near the Gulkana River, but the lodge was never rebuilt in the same form.

From the January 7th, 1993 Copper River Country Journal  (Photo © Country Journal)

Related

History 5278313953281355337

Click Here

Copper River Country

Copper River Country
"Too Far North" With David Mudrick

2021-22 School Schedules

2021-22 School Schedules
No School Information Available Yet. Stay Tuned

Copper River Salmon Raffle

Copper River Salmon Raffle
At The Visitor Center In Glennallen

CLICK: TAKE A BREAK

CLICK: TAKE A BREAK
Read The Bearfoot Guide To Roadside Alaska

Search For Somebody Below

Today: CHECK THE HIGHWAYS

Stories Folks Are Reading Now

See Every Single Story

The Journal Is Copyrighted Material

The Journal Is Copyrighted Material
All rights reserved. Contact us at 320-1145.

Write To The Country Journal

Name

Email *

Message *

item